Northeastern Oklahoma Fly Fishing Club
Tyer Information
Club Background
Fly Tying Contest
Recent and Upcoming Events
Smallmouth Rendezvous
Bulletin Board
Club Photo Album
Related Links
Contact Us

Fly Tying:
The Smallmouth Rendezvous and Fly Tying Extravaganza has a unique approach to inviting fly tiers to the event.  Both the best tiers in the country and beginning tiers are welcome.  The informal format of the event allows the tiers to interact and learn from each other.  There are no set schedules for the tiers to be at their station, but each tier will have a station available for both days to use as they wish.
The public is welcome to visit and ask questions of any fly tier.  All the tiers welcome questions.
To inquire about being a tier contact our Tying Chairman:
Tying Contest:
The tying contest will be determined by Fred DuPre', the winner of last years contest.
He will provide a bag of materials to each contestant and then tiers will have 20 minutes to create a fly from the materials in the bag.  There will be a special judge to pick the winning fly.  The contest is open to all tiers at 1:00 PM on Saturday.

2009 Tying Contest Winner
Zach Beardon receiving contest trophy from Chuck Harrison, Tying Chairman

SMR Home

2011 Featured Tyers:
Ward Bean:  Throughout Ward's career as a college educator he often dreamed about how good life would be if he could "chuck it all" and become an outdoor writer.  But the pragmatist in him always argued that "chucking it all" was not in his family's best interest.  Ironically, retirement helped make that dream come true.  Soon after he stopped going to the office every day, he tried his hand at free lance writing and his fly patterns, tying tips and feature articles began to appear in Fly Tyer Magazine, Warmwater FlyFishing, and Fly Fishing and Tying Journal.
In 1999, Dr. Tom Whiting of Delta, Colorado, invited Ward to join the Whiting Farms Pro Team.  His goal is for to be a work in progress with new fly patterns and fly tying techniques posted frequently.  As Warmwater Fly Tyer evolves, he hopes that it will meet his expectations and yours as well.
Dave Whitlock:
Dave's experience and creative outlook on the whole spectrum of fly fishing have earned him the reputation of being one of the top professional fly fishers in the sport.  He has been the recipient of many awards for his fly-fishing and fly-tying contributions, including induction into the National Fresh Water Hall of Fame, the Max Ander's Wild Trout Award for his work on propagation of wild trout and the Federation of Fly Fishers' Conservation Man of the Year Award.  Dave has also received the Buz Buzeck Flytyer's Award which is the highest honor in the fly-tying world.  It recognized his innovativeness in new fly-tying patterns and his national fly-tying activities.
Dave was given the FFF James E. Henshall Award for his work in warm-water fishing and conservation, and received FFF's Ambassador Award for national and international promotion of fly fishing and conservation.  In 1996 he was inducted into the Arkansas Game & Fish Hall of Fame and was given the Lifetime Contribution Award in 1997 from the National American Fly Tackle Trade Association.

Last updated on